Kemi Badenoch appointed shadow levelling-up secretary

Kemi Badenoch

Kemi Badenoch has become shadow levelling-up secretary, while former estate agent Kevin Hollinrake will shadow Badenoch’s former business secretary post.

The move was announced yesterday as part of Rishi Sunak’s new shadow cabinet, which does not include former prime minister David Cameron.

Badenoch, the MP for North West Essex seat, is widely seen as a frontrunner to replace Rishi Sunak as leader of the Conservative party

Sunak will continue as leader of the Conservatives until a replacement is found, after he announced his resignation from the position last week following the party’s crushing defeat at the general election.

“Following this result, I will step down as party leader. Not immediately, but once the formal arrangements for selecting my successor are in place,” Sunak said in his final speech as prime minister outside 10 Downing Street last Friday.

“It is important that after 14 years in government, the Conservative Party rebuilds, but also that it takes up its crucial role in opposition professionally and effectively,” he added.

Sunak has reportedly told friends he would rather his time as interim leader does not drag on, and that he would rather a caretaker leader take the reins if the contest goes beyond September.

The Conservative party released the following statement as they announced the shadow cabinet members: “The interim shadow cabinet draws upon much of the Conservative Party’s existing experience and expertise, to ensure that and ready to hold the new Labour government to account from day one.”

This is the full list of people appointed to Sunak’s shadow cabinet:

Shadow Deputy Leader of the Opposition and Shadow Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster: Oliver Dowden

Shadow Chancellor of the Exchequer: Jeremy Hunt

Shadow Secretary of State for Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Affairs: Andrew Mitchell

Shadow Home Secretary: James Cleverly

Shadow Secretary of State for Defence: James Cartlidge

Shadow Secretary of State for Justice: Ed Argar

Shadow Secretary of State for Science, Innovation and Technology: Andrew Griffith

Shadow Health and Social Care Secretary: Victoria Atkins

Shadow Secretary of State for Levelling Up, Housing and Communities: Kemi Badenoch

Shadow Secretary of State for the Environment, Food and Rural Affairs: Steve Barclay

Shadow Leader of the House of Commons: Chris Phil

Shadow Leader of the House of Lords: Lord True

Shadow Secretary of State for Business and Trade: Kevin Hollinrake

Shadow Secretary of State for Energy Security and Net Zero: Claire Coutinho

Shadow Secretary of State for Work and Pensions: Mel Stride

Shadow Secretary of State for Education: Damian Hinds

Shadow Secretary of State for Transport: Helen Whately

Shadow Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport: Julia Lopez

Shadow Attorney General: Jeremy Wright

Shadow Secretary of State for Northern Ireland: Alex Burghart

Shadow Secretary of State for Scotland: John Lamont

Shadow Secretary of State for Wales: Lord Davies of Gower

Opposition Chief Whip: Stuart Andrew

Shadow Chief Secretary to the Treasury: Laura Trott

Shadow Paymaster General: John Glen

Shadow Security Minister: Tom Tugendhat

Shadow Veterans Minister: Andrew Bowie

Shadow Women and Equalities: Mims Davies



Email the story to a friend!


  1. Robert_May

    It’s nice to see Mr. Hollinrake get a seat in the shadow cabinet. I’m convinced if there were more politicians with his level head and decorum in the Conservative party the seat losses would have been very much reduced

  2. jan-byers

    Poor lady is deranged


You must be logged in to report this comment!

Comments are closed.

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter, we have sent you an email asking you to confirm your subscription. Additionally if you would like to create a free EYE account which allows you to comment on news stories and manage your email subscriptions please enter a password below.