Listings

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)

• Author

Kyle

Maybe not the right forum topic; though keen to get the take on some agents.

I am an agent based in London but live in Hertfordshire. My wife & I are buying and selling (both in Hertfordshire) current. When reviewing the stock currently on the market, I am taken back by the quality of property listings.

With respect to my peers, the pictures and wording I am not so focused, I completely appreciate not everyone is in a position to commision professional photography (especially given the fees in rural areas like mine) but my point more so relating to floor plans, or should I say the lack of.

Even where a floor plan is present, usually this has no disclosure of the total square footage (or meters depending on your method of thought), if any measurements at all.

I’m having to investigate the door number via Street view then check the EPC before even enquiring on a property. My colleagues can’t quite get their head around it either, though I wondered if these were sentiments shared?

More poignantly, I suppose my question really for those who do not draft a floor plan, is why not?

PeeBee

Kyle – if I may give an opinion.

Floorplans are not everyone’s idea of a sales aid.  Some believe the opposite – and in many-a-case I am one of those in this latter bunch.

Floorplans have been used for decades by developers to aid buyers of unbuilt homes. The problem was always that many people had no real grasp of space when it is laid on a plan, and some would travel considerable distances to the nearest site with a showhome of the design they were interested in – so even in the 70s (when I cut my teeth in the industry) they were as much a hindrance as a help.