Launching Lettings Advice?

HOME The Arena Lettings & Management Forum Launching Lettings Advice?

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)

• Author

PaulC

Happy New Year All!

We are looking at 2016 and assessing the best growth options for our business.

Our existing lettings business is weak (let 20 homes in our first year of operation)

The local lettings market is strong so this is likely where we will focus our efforts.

I wanted to get some advice from my peers, what would be your top ten tips in growing the lettings side? Do’s Don’t’s? How do people find the landlords? Is anyone doing anything clever with fees?

All advice greatly welcomed.

Clarkuk

Paul C – As a sales agent I don’t do lettings but we have had a local lettings agent join our networking group.  They were introduced to a local property developer through networking and it gave them the chance to cover 18 properties on day 1. I guess at the start it’s about building it up.  Speak to an IFA too, they give financial advice to landlords see if you can get them to push potential purchasers of Buy-to-let properties to you.

Have you considered offering a discounted rate if they list a property sold by you for lettings within 6 months? (depending on your set up) you wouldn’t need to spend ages rewriting property details or floorplans etc. it saves you time you save them some money.

just some suggestions from me

PaulC

The lets we did in 2015 were nearly all organic from the the sales side. Investors buying and us essentially pre marketing the home ahead of completion.

Good idea on the mortgage side..

paul-ch

Paul

So ideas

1. Front window needs to have it in – often people just don’t know you do lettings

2. Talk to buyers (some will be investors)

3. Get to the council/RLA meetings, you won’t get many LL as many self-manage but you will find out what their issues are.